Builds ROTW- TCH2FLY's 1994 Cruiser (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everyone my name is Mike and I’m a cruiseraholic…..
I apologize for not having this up sooner, Labor day planning and execution kinda snuck up on me.

Quick intro before I get to my rig. My forum nick is TCH2FLY; yes I’m a flight instructor. When I was doing a lot of teaching I had that as my vanity plate and started using it in forums. I live in Denver and have been 4-wheeling different rigs for about 22 years. Prior to my midlife career change I was in the automotive industry and my last job was with Toyota. That is the reason I have a good understand of and tremendous faith in their vehicles. Of all the rigs I’ve owned my favorite was my 79 FJ-40 and when it was time to build a family size rig an 80 series was the natural choice. I knew that I wanted a white exterior and cloth seats. My experience told me I needed an FZJ for the additional power and 4whl disc brakes.

I planned on doing 3-4 day family camping trips and moderate to difficult trails but not much in the way of rock crawling (that changed this weekend :D ). I looked at several trucks and finally found a white 1994 with cloth. It had some ugly aftermarket wheels but the axles were dry and the brakes new. It was exactly what I wanted for much less than I planned to spend. So on to the specifics and mods.

Basic: 1994 FZJ-80 160k…no factory lockers.
Current list of mods (as of July 2010)
Front springs - OME 850-J and 1.5" steel spacers, Rear Ssprings- OME 864. OME "blue" caster bushings.
4.88 gears with ARB lockers, front and rear
315/75-16 Cooper STTs
ARB front bumper/Slee AC skid plate and a 12,000 LB Warn.
Slee sliders and rear bumper.
Safari Snorkle
OEM CDL switch and 7 pin mod.
OEM hand throttle.
Magnaflow muffler and 2 ½" Cat-back exhaust.
Dual batteries… simple isolator set-up.