V8 conversation help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have 1968 fj40. I am still a newbie with FJ's but I've done my research and decided on doing a LS swap with a NV4500 5speed swap. I still have a few questions though.

What modifications need to be done to drive shafts with the NV4500?

I've been told that a split case for the transfer case is the way to go, but I, not sure what that is if some could explained that to me?

Would I need an adapter with a split case?

What I have to do any modifications to the differentials?

Thanks for any help, I'm trying to research this out but having some trouble finding answers that make sense to me.
Also if there is any thread that goes over this process that would be a huge help.

I have 1968 fj40. I am still a newbie with FJ's but I've done my research and decided on doing a LS swap with a NV4500 5speed swap. I still have a few questions though.

I've been told that a split case for the transfer case is the way to go, but I, not sure what that is if some could explained that to me?

Thanks for any help, I'm trying to research this out but having some trouble finding answers that make sense to me.
Also if there is any thread that goes over this process that would be a huge help.

Sorry... I know nothing...

But, did you really intend to title this thread "V8 Conversation Help"?

Or, did you mean it to be "V8 Conversion Help"? EDIT: I just noticed you just joined... not sure just when the "Thread Tools" button appears... you may need 10 posts or so...

If you need to correct the title, there is a "Thread Tools" button on the right side, just above your post... click it and click "Edit Title".

There's a lot of variables, but you'll probably have to shorten the rear drive line and lengthen the front drive line. The NV4500 with adapters is longer than the stock transmission.