rebuild or replacement 1fzfe (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I was able to purchase a 1993 fzj80 triple locked with small crash damage. The engine at the time sounded good but I had oil light on, after some research I found out oil light is very common issue and I may not need to concern myself to much if everything else checks out. Well it did... at the time. I decided to change the oil switch and oil but no fix. I inspected the oil and noticed what may be bearing material and than a sudden knock start coming from the engine. Oil also smelled like gas but it could be from sitting so long, and no smoke. Soo I assume I spun a bearing in one of the rear cylinders. I'm a bit tight on budget so I wanted to have some input. Would you guys recommend I rebuild the engine or buy a cheap replacement? If I get a replacement I do plan on rebuilding the engine down the road. I'm new to land cruisers so don't know much on them. any input is appreciated, thank you.

First of congrats! There is nothing cheep about owning these rigs, maybe give us some more info mileage, what oil light?, do you know what bearing material looks like? Did you try to use a magnet to see if it picks it up? How loud is the knock? Was the truck sitting for a long time since being ran? If you end up buying a cheep motor $2000+ usually for a good running 1fzfe. The time would be now to replace head gasket and inspect the bottom end. No reason to do it twice unless you don’t have the funds and that would be a good indicator that a 30 year old truck might not be the best financial choice. Share some pictures so we know what you’re working with!