New suspension/lift - going in this weekend, talk to me all you DIY'ers.... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Parts delivered, sitting in my garage, got a buddy helping me out this weekend to install the following:

Fronts
  • Ironman Pro Foam Cell coilovers
  • Total Chaos UCAs
Rears
  • MT rear conversion kit
  • MT upper and lower links
  • MT Medium Duty LT springs and ICON LT shocks
  • extended brake lines and rear bumper stops
What are the "tips-n-tricks" from the experts and what are the "gotchas" out there I need to be aware of. Any write-ups would be appreciated, thx!

Not a total noob to being under a rig but also never wrenched a GX either so hints/advice/sage know-how is appreciated.

thx!

Last edited:
Happy to help, I think they are public videos so you can see them without an account

@DanKunz - great vids, thx. There's two that appear to be identical with no audio, what did I miss?

Smarter to do fronts or rears first?

Any torque specs for any of these bolts?

Starting around 9am tomorrow, chances of getting done in one day......hmmmmm.

Might be a duplicate. I don't do torque specs anymore since I have done so many and none have fell into bits :p

Fronts - does the LCA need to be unbolted from the fromt axle/rotor assembly in order to get the shock/coilover assemblies out/in???

Yes..it is in the video list...but only at the spindle (two nuts)...watch your abs lines and dont need to take of brakes, etc.

must have missed that in the vids but thx!!!!

do you have to use a spring compressor to get the spring/coil out of the fronts? that's where i'm at...

nevermind!!!!

This electronic assembly, what's it for and what to do with it? After getting my IronMan's installed, there's no room atop those to reinstall as they were atop the OEM shock/spring combos. What to do???

Sorry for poor rotation here.....

upload_2016-11-11_17-2-12.png