1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Gauge Cluster

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by G_Stratton, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    My old gauge cluster was just not serving its purpose anymore.

    Too many mods to the drive train for the speedometer to even be close let alown the fact that the speedometer cable was broken, too short and not the right end for the new trany.

    And as for the rest of the gauges - the sending unit in the fuel tank is shot – the water temp has never worked since I bought the cruiser – the amp meter works but I have always been waiting for it to catch on fire. The oil pressure gauge has always worked.

    I have been using a GPS for a speedometer, but it is a pain in the butt to get set up and it wasn’t uncommon to loose the signal and not know what speed I was going. This is something that has always driven me up the wall, whether I was speeding or not. :)

    So here is my solution -

    [​IMG]

    It is as close of a match as I could get to the old setup

    [​IMG]

    The gauge set is Auto Meter Old Tyme White Series Analog Gauge Kits ATM-1602. I chose this kit as it comes with all the sending units and that the speedometer is electronic and programmable. You program it by putting the speedometer in to program and driving a known 2 miles and then taking it out of program. Imagine having larger tires and different gearing and still having an accurate speedometer.
     
  2. bsevans

    bsevans Focus on the Journey

    Messages:
    2,008
    Media:
    50
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Southern Arizona
    Nice, but where are the turn signal and Hi beam indicator lights?
     
  3. spotcruiser

    spotcruiser Geezer SILVER Star

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    437
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Western WA
    Looks good, Guy. Seems like you might even have had room for a tach.

    Your turn signals are on the dash, aren't they?

    Todd Bull.
     
  4. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    Rodger on the turn signals are on the side.

    I still need to pick up a high beam indicator. It will go between the water and fuel gauges.

    I bet I couls have fit a tack in but it would have been a real squeeze.
     
  5. cruiser88

    cruiser88

    Messages:
    11,874
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Medford Oregon
    can i ask where you got your fuel guage:beer: nice work
     
  6. amg2y

    amg2y

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Does the speedo came with the cable? Does it require any mod to fit it to the cruiser? I've been wanting to do this too, but not sure about the speedo cable.
    Any info would be appreciated. thanks...
     
  7. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    I got as far as getting the wiring harness built for the back the only wires left are the ones from the sending units.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    Thanks

    I bought this gauge kit from Summit Racing on line. The fuel gauge came with a universal sending unit. I haven't installed it yet so I can't say how easy that part of the install will be.
     
  9. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    As you can see from the picture with the wiring in it, this speedo doesn't use a cable. It uses a sending unit that attaches where the cable would normally on the transfer case. You then run a wire up to the speedometer and as I stated before, you can then program the speedometer to match your gearing and tire size.

    The only thing I’m not sure of is will the sending unit fit a Land Cruiser speedo cable output. I’m running a Dana 18 t-case… you know I have the old 3 speed t-case… I check it for fit. :)

    I checked the fit of the speedo sending unit to the 3 speed t-case. It threads on just fine, but the square pin they provide is not as big as the toyota spedo cable end. you would need to shim or fab a new pin. I would think a pretty easy thing to do.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2007
  10. DiHrdBowTi

    DiHrdBowTi

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    Reno
    When I did my cluster I went to the local speedo shop and she pulled out a box of pins and matched the sender to the cable gear drive in the t-case.
    PB190819a.JPG
     
  11. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    Nice - I see your running dual fuel tanks.
     
  12. camcruiser13

    camcruiser13

    Messages:
    6,971
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    sittin on the couch in UT
    those sure are pretty,


    nice wok man
     
  13. SteveO

    SteveO

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary AB.
    Where'd you get that guage panel? I really like the look of that one. Thanks. ....Steve
     
  14. 78-FJ40

    78-FJ40

    Messages:
    428
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
  15. 73fj

    73fj Tho at sumbitch in ayer!

    Messages:
    1,137
    Media:
    36
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    165
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
    Has anyone purchased the gasseling panel? Is it plastic? (sorry no hi-jack intended)
     
  16. G_Stratton

    G_Stratton

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sedro Woolley WA
    Those are sweet. I'm not unhappy with the one I made. If my cruiser was more show then trail I would definitely get one for the cleaner look.
     
  17. mr_manny

    mr_manny

    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Location:
    san pancho, ca
    sweet panel :cool:
    just not feelin the two fuel guages...

    I would have added a switch and used the real-estate for a fuel pressure or even a vacuum guage :D
     
  18. landcrusher909

    landcrusher909 Hobbyist SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,741
    Media:
    30
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    771
    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Southern Calif.
    Man thats nice lets see some pics after its installed
     
  19. raiderfan

    raiderfan

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Oceanside Ca
    Nice panel. I am looking at doing the same. Did you get all the gauges at summit? I have the speedo installed by the PO but haven't been able to find the matching guages.
     
  20. 35snmud

    35snmud SILVER Star

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Mountains of Northern CA
    On their page it says 1/4" aluminum. Anodized or powder coated.