Intermittent No start after vehcile gets warm along with high idle at times and a Fuel smell from eh (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey I'm new to this form and Toyotas.
I'm A GM master tech with 10 years experience.
Don't know anything about a toyota.
Just bought a 1988 fj62 that lived near the beach for 6 years so a little Rusty.
Just bought it and I thought it ran good until 1 day after ownership it would not start.
Drove to the gas station filled my tank with gas and drove home and ran inside for 10 minutes. I was ready to head back out and the engine would turn over but would not start.
I pulled the fuel line off the regulator and cranked it over and no fuel sprayed out.
Figured my fuel pump took a dump.
Replaced the fuel pump. It fired up good.
Drove down the road and while at a stop light the engine was reving up to 2,000 rpm with no foot in the gas pedal and the throttle knob all the way in.
I towed it back home and pulled the fuel line off at the regulator and cranked the engine and fuel went flying out.
Put the fuel line back on and it fired up no problem.
I took it for another spin and it left me stranded at the store.
Went back 2 hours later and it fired up no problem.
On the way home it kepts bogging down happen about 5 times in my 3 miles ride home.
Pulled in the driveway and let it sit for a minute and no start.
Went back out 10 minute's later and started it up and the idle spiked to 2,000 rpm agian and held steady.
I shut it off and no start after that.
I replaced the Fuel pressure Regulator a few days latter all seamed good then all of a suddem it wouldn't start agian.
Has new cap and rotor,plugs,wires,fuel pump and F.P.R.
Seams that after sitting it will start.
But once warm it will not start and I noticed the exhaust smells like fuel.
Also how can I pull Codes?
Does Toyota use Flash codes?