Hello GX470 guys, newbie here with some questions... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Right now I have a 1st Gen Mitsubishi Montero which I love, but I know the wife does not like driving it all the time, especially with the baby.

I think she will like the GXs and I have always liked them since they remind me a lot of my Montero.

Anyways a few questions, even after doing a search I couldn't really find the info I was looking for. I've been eye-ing a 2006 GX470 in my area for a while now.

Does the GX470 have (brake actuated or LSD) traction control which will help if a wheel is in the air or spinning with no resistance?

From what I can tell there is only a center diff lock which is standard on GXs

Are Auto-Lockers (Aussie Locker etc) available for front diff?

While we are on the subject, is there a place where I can look at diff sizes (or names) or see a comparison between GX and 4-runner (or FJ, whatever is more similar)

Are all LC Prado parts interchangeable (if same engine)?

Any known issues with engine or drivetrain I should closely inspect? diff seals, u-joints, valve leak, etc?

Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.

The GX does have an ATRAC system to take care of the spinning wheels.

ARB does have a front and rear locker for this vehicle.

Other than the water pump and timing belt at 90k, the vehicle is solid with a nice balance of on/off road performance.

Other concerns: drive shaft clunk sound, cracking dashboard, peeling chrome wheels, popping air bags-suspensions, some have outdated navigation and radio unit that cannot be changed due to loss of AC/heat control

All this can be searched if you want more details.

In addition to dogbite's info...

the GX diffs are identical size to 4th Gen 4runners and FJ Cruiser, so the FJ rear elocker could also be used in the rear of the GX (with a bit of modification).