HAM Tech Thread (1 Viewer)

Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
1
Location
Phoenix, AZ
i just bought a BAOFENG UV-5R handheld ham radio just to use on trail runs so i can know what is happening. I have a hard mounted Uniden CB installed but want CB and HAM possibilities depending on the run. just trying to figure out how to use it and what frequencies to program into it.
You can use Chirp to download the repeaters and other commonly used frequencies on to the Baofeng. Chirp is free to use, just make sure that you get the $20 cable for your Baofeng on Amazon to avoid any issues with your connection and downloads.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
1,290
Location
Columbus, OH
What I Run

Transceiver:
Yaesu FTM-400XDR
Speaker: DXE-281 (DX Engineering house brand)
Antenna: DMN-NR770HB 40.2"
Mount: Massive Metal hood mount from @reznunt

In my opinion, a VHF (Very High Frequency - 2m - 140MHz) / UHF (Ultra High Frequency - 70cm - 440 MHz) HAM radio is the best piece of safety/emergency kit you can get. I'll go on to say that a dual band radio, capable of kicking out APRS (Automatic Packet Reporting Service) beacons on one of the bands, is definitely worth the investment. For example, my Yaesu FTM-400 (picture below) has a dedicated B Band that can be set up to run APRS, which means at some user defined interval (3 minutes for me) my radio will send out a beacon on 144.390 MHz (in the US, this is the dedicated APRS frequency) that includes my GPS location, speed, heading, and altitude. The APRS beacons go out on their own all while you are chatting with your friends on the A Band.

All the kit above can be found at DXengineering.com and Ham Radio Outlet (HRO has a storefront over in Phx, they are very helpful, have tons of kit inside to play with, and I highly recommend stopping by)

Transceiver: FTM-400 has a detachable face place that can be mounted away from the main unit. Mine is mounted with a ram ball (face plate has a 1/4-20 hole) and suction cup. The main unit is mounted inside the glove box of my 100 series.
View attachment 2257735
View attachment 2257742

Antenna: DMN-NR770HB 40.2"
View attachment 2257744

Antenna Mount: This is from Massive Metal and picks up the factory hood latch fasteners
View attachment 2257743
I have this same antenna and initially mounted it in the same area on my 80 series. The coil grabbed too many branches and I had to relocate it to the mounting hole on my ARB bumper.
 

Somebodyelse5

Land Crushers
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
2,830
Location
Phx, Arizona
I have this same antenna and initially mounted it in the same area on my 80 series. The coil grabbed too many branches and I had to relocate it to the mounting hole on my ARB bumper.

It definitely catches sometimes, but the mount I use allows the ant to rotate if it catches... only happened a few times (but I also don't see too much low branches out in the desert.)
 

Somebodyelse5

Land Crushers
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
2,830
Location
Phx, Arizona
Here's an example of what you can get from aprs.fi if you "track" a specific call sign. This is most of the outing from this weekend, notice that there were some pings that were unable to hit an igate and the pings themselves are not directly on the trail. This is due to the "ambiguity" that you can set with your beacons so that your exact location isn't being given away, you tell it how many decimal places off the back of your GPS coordinates to leave off.

1611021380445.png


You can also export the data into a csv (or google earth file format) to use however you'd like
 

TheGrrrrr

GOLD Star
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
765
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
Here's an example of what you can get from aprs.fi if you "track" a specific call sign. This is most of the outing from this weekend, notice that there were some pings that were unable to hit an igate and the pings themselves are not directly on the trail. This is due to the "ambiguity" that you can set with your beacons so that your exact location isn't being given away, you tell it how many decimal places off the back of your GPS coordinates to leave off.

View attachment 2557719

You can also export the data into a csv (or google earth file format) to use however you'd like
What are you using to beacon, and what repeater were you hitting?
 

Somebodyelse5

Land Crushers
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
2,830
Location
Phx, Arizona
What are you using to beacon, and what repeater were you hitting?

This is all within my Yaesu FTM-400, it has a GPS receiver and built in APRS function. It runs APRS beacons on the B-Band on 144.390

I was hitting igates all over the valley. If you go onto APRS.fi and hover over a beacon it will show you on the map where the igate you hit is
 

TheGrrrrr

GOLD Star
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
765
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
This is all within my Yaesu FTM-400, it has a GPS receiver and built in APRS function. It runs APRS beacons on the B-Band on 144.390

I was hitting igates all over the valley. If you go onto APRS.fi and hover over a beacon it will show you on the map where the igate you hit is
I‘m on Icom 5100 so hitting up dstar DPRS. I don’t understand it but was able to follow instructions well enough to make it work. Would be good to chat about how it all comes together at some point.
 

Somebodyelse5

Land Crushers
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
2,830
Location
Phx, Arizona
I‘m on Icom 5100 so hitting up dstar DPRS. I don’t understand it but was able to follow instructions well enough to make it work. Would be good to chat about how it all comes together at some point.

So, just did some quick reading and it seems that DPRS tags along with your digital signal, if you are using a D-Start enabled repeater you will also be sending your DPRS beacon. The tricky part becomes what that specific repeater does with your DRPS packets, it seems that it's up to the repeater owner and they don't all pass it to the internet.

I *think* if you had multiple folks on a run using DStar digital mode, you'd also be sending and receiving DPRS between the devices.. this way you can plot their location and you should be able to see their heading from your location. I know that Yeasu digital modes work this way, but none of the manufacturer's digital encryptions play nice together.

If you want to make use of the standard APRS like I was using (this also gives you the ability to use SMSGATE to send text messages over the cell network and to send messages to specific call signs) you could grab a TNC like a TinkTrak4. I know a lot of folks use those and love em.
 

TheGrrrrr

GOLD Star
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
765
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
So, just did some quick reading and it seems that DPRS tags along with your digital signal, if you are using a D-Start enabled repeater you will also be sending your DPRS beacon. The tricky part becomes what that specific repeater does with your DRPS packets, it seems that it's up to the repeater owner and they don't all pass it to the internet.

I *think* if you had multiple folks on a run using DStar digital mode, you'd also be sending and receiving DPRS between the devices.. this way you can plot their location and you should be able to see their heading from your location. I know that Yeasu digital modes work this way, but none of the manufacturer's digital encryptions play nice together.

If you want to make use of the standard APRS like I was using (this also gives you the ability to use SMSGATE to send text messages over the cell network and to send messages to specific call signs) you could grab a TNC like a TinkTrak4. I know a lot of folks use those and love em.

Maybe it would just be easier for me to switch to the Yaesu FTM-400XDR. Looks like Gigaparts has a refurbished one for $519. Anyone want to buy an ICOM 5100a?
 

Somebodyelse5

Land Crushers
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
2,830
Location
Phx, Arizona
Maybe it would just be easier for me to switch to the Yaesu FTM-400XDR. Looks like Gigaparts has a refurbished one for $519. Anyone want to buy an ICOM 5100a?
man those got more expensive, I think I paid around $450 for my new one from HRO over in PHX.

The one feature you'll lose is the repeater look up that I think your 5100a has, but otherwise I think you'll like the ftm400 even more. it will plot altitude over time too, which i think is pretty neat
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom