Do I Need a New Water Pump? Maybe I'm Just Paranoid? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm a total noob here, so bear with me!

About a month ago I was letting my cold blooded FJ60 warm up for about 20 or 30 minutes (it was frozen solid, only about 5 degrees outside).

When I came out I noticed a large pool of coolant under that car. It took me awhile to locate the leak because coolant hitting the fan and was being flung all over- it was from the top return hose that came from the thermostat housing and it dripped along the top lip of the rad and eventually down onto the fan..I tightened that sucker down and have not any issues since.

However, while I was researching potential issues I read something about an indication of water pump failure (or just gasket failure) was deposits or residue around the edge of the water pump where it meets the front of the engine block. Mine had quite bit of residue (see image attached) and I made a note to change the water pump when the weather was better.

I have thought that my FJ was running a bit on the hot side in the past, although the temperature gauge reading was always normal pretty much every time. During the summer months the hood was sometimes too hot to touch (keep in mind I have a replacement hood that doesn't have any of the insulation or padded material that I have seen on other cars- its just straight metal) - I have never experienced any performance issues even in 115 degree weather driving up steep hills either.

I'm a bit paranoid about this old rig and I often listen to the sound of the engine to see if I can notice any changes. One sound that was common during the colder months was a bit of a 'knock' or click that went away after the car had warmed up. I was assuming it might be a bearing going bad..perhaps the water pump?