Builds 97 on 40s Expo Build

• Thread starter ExpoMax
  • Start date
  • Watchers 81
ExpoMax

ExpoMax

Hey everyone. I have been building my 1997 Land Cruiser for a few months now. It took a year of saving before this, and many hours of work in between high school classes. But ever since I saw @Apounder and his crazy truck I knew I wanted 40s. You can blame my dad for the love for Land Cruisers. :cheers:

This used to be my dads rig until he upgraded to a 3x locked 97 40th anniversary. I bought this truck from him about 7 months ago. Part of the deal was he would get to keep the bumper, sliders, winch, front springs, and a couple other odds and ends. All of that was fine with me, I had a different plan. Had 258,000 miles then, has 272k miles now.
IMG 3382

This is a sneak peak of what this truck has evolved into. Still has a long way to go.

EBD863C3 A709 4FA0 8EDE A2B0B2980A63

Current Mods Include (Pending):

Custom F/R bumpers
TG Sliders
Nitro 5.29s
ARB Lockers
TG Longfields
Trussed/gusseted front axle
3-link
Rocker chop
No Flares - Welded/Monstalined
13in Travel Pro Comp 9000 Shocks
1" BL
Dobinsons 4” flexi coils
Trail tailor adj. panards
1.75” Bumpstop extension Front, 2.75" Rear
40x13.5r17 Pro Comp mt2
17x9 3.5BS Pro Comp 97 Series Steel Wheels
1.25” wheel spacers
Upgraded Stereo w/ 10in sub
Built out interior w/ Bed, sink. etc.
LEDS throughout
China Snorkel
Hella Horns

Last edited:
cody c

cody c

what did you do with the fender wells?

I'm on 38's, and been thinking bout 40's or 42's with heavier axles, not that it's in my budget at the moment, but I would finally have to do some body work to make that happen.

ExpoMax

ExpoMax

The plan for my build

• Find a good deal on either 37s or 40s
  • Make the front axle as strong as possible
  • Re-gear to 5.29s
  • Add a ARB air locker up front (rear already has one)
  • 1in body lift
  • Custom front / rear bumpers
  • Trail Gear Sliders
  • Get at least 12in stroke shocks