100 - Series Engine Failure - Help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey All -

Newbie here, I have been on the site and enjoyed it. First post but its a big one for me I need to ask for help/advice. I purchased a 2004 Cruiser 2.5 years ago with about 88,000 miles. Most of the service records came with it, with timing belt service being done shortly before I purchased it. I have always wanted this truck and loved every minute of it. I suddenly have a huge problem and was hoping someone could lend an ear and have any advice or opinions.
My family and I were loaded up in the truck to head home after Christmas. Backing out of driveway it stuttered and the CEL came on with VSC TRAK and VSC OFF lights. Took it in to the dealer, kept it under 40mph and didnt notice any issues/noises while driving it in. The code was Cylinder 8 misfire and here is what unfolded:
Delear said the plug was jammed in the cylinder and somehow not really threaded. They suspected it was arching/using threads as ground this whole time so it "glassed" the threads of cylinder. They tried a tap and die, failed, moved on to Helicoil which they could not get to seat either. Finally they said the bottom part of helcoil fell in the cylinder head and that nothing else was going to work. I was told I need a new cylinder head. Two weeks later I am told the used head is finally in and they will begin the replacement. I get a call the next day and the dealer tells me that when they removed the cylinder head the piston under cylinder 8 was broken and I need a new engine. They say they have never seen this before and have no idea how I drove it in there, however it was preexisting and perhaps the pressure in the cylinder kept the piston in place. Again I have not had a single engine issue in the 2+ years I have owned it.