Pre 03 Factory NAV to Double Din, Climate Knobs Conversion?

chford

SILVER Star
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
100
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Any recommendations for Double Din Nav Systems? It appears that I am in the market... I have already purchased speakers, sub and amp.
I can help narrow it down...choose between Kenwood (I had two units at one time...before my 80-series got totalled), JVC and Pioneer. Outside of that you're going to find things lacking.

Personally, I'd be looking at the Kenwood Excelon because it has native controls for USB Mass Media devices...aka my Fiio X5. I don't use navigation with the unit I have anymore because I get better from my android phone.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
276
Location
Denver, CO
Current method to increase fan speed (unless on auto) :
Press climate button
Watch screen change
Locate fan button
Press fan button and listen for beep

Nothing is tactile or space memory located. I have to look down for all of that.
In an early 100, I can find the twist knob without looking and increase the setting with a detectable position.

Of course, Toyota intended for use in auto all the time with only temp changes via the physical buttons, I'm just not wired that way. I leave a/c off 90% of the time.
 

chford

SILVER Star
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
100
Location
Cincinnati, OH
@OilHammer...understood. I didn't realize that was a goal of this specific endeavor but, believe me, I would love to have that changed too because it's as cumbersome as controls can be.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
I can help narrow it down...choose between Kenwood (I had two units at one time...before my 80-series got totalled), JVC and Pioneer. Outside of that you're going to find things lacking.

Personally, I'd be looking at the Kenwood Excelon because it has native controls for USB Mass Media devices...aka my Fiio X5. I don't use navigation with the unit I have anymore because I get better from my android phone.
Thanks chford. I am probably leaning toward a Kenwood... The Garmin integration is probably going to be supported better over the long term.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
276
Location
Denver, CO
A/c control is not the reason I would change, it's a potential bonus. Personally, I would like nav with a better GUI, a back up camera, Bluetooth, and aux input. I don't need a tape deck, not now, not since 1988. Trick has always been that to change the nav, the integrated a/c IS the problem. Fix that, bob's your uncle.
 

chford

SILVER Star
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
100
Location
Cincinnati, OH
@OilHammer That's exactly how I see it. Give me control over my AV and I can live with the HVAC. I don't like the HVAC but I HATE not being able to play digital music, see behind me or run/control anything that's been introduced in car electronics since our vehicles were made.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
015a617563169ba8675499b1a182e5f8f148a44da8.jpg 01336fd74c9377d655579a2abb9829b7627112b184.jpg

So I tore into the dash on Saturday and am posting some pictures. I also made an excel file of the pinout to transition from Nav to Non Nav Plugs. To go the path that I did you will need salvaged plugs because I needed not only the plugs but had to change (solder/heat shrink)a couple of the female pins because they were different sizes in the two different configurations.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
012e89516cf3e49ba523b93f652c7c779ed3c9b175.jpg 01eeb2d9d309d23eef0f6c28ec05071c44087416bf.jpg 01e393e9cda72904b804f07cf209553c43c5e14383.jpg 01f69be0500cf2f1fc6b644e28d7f26d48f05cd227.jpg 0180fed1a083a2d50d07757591720e15533f529a64.jpg

Disassembly and labeling. A couple options make a difference in the wiring. Nav and Rear AC were the big hitters. The differences are called out in the wiring diagram. Some of the pins were really easy to remove and reinstall in the salvages connectors, others were really hard. I nearly destroyed connector "H"getting the pins out. So I printed out my homemade pin diagram and wiring diagram, took them to the garage and made notes/put "X's" over pins that I had completed the move. The entire wiring diagram was checked probably 5 times to make sure that I did not miss a pin or put one in the wrong place.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
015edbebf6c6843156e686db9d14e7699538ac07a9.jpg This is the tool that I modified to be my terminal pick. It was used to release the pins.

01724061cee10a7461e2263dbf222284c9d16a4e8f.jpg The new plugs were labeled A,B,C,D and the ones being removed were E,F,G,H,I.
01a384024a9219b7b25564c2989a042e6e5dac6fa5.jpg Here is a shot of the plugs after removal. I am kinda jumping ahead here as this was one of the last pictures that I took.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
013f8fc036b4bd50cdd9f7b999c992ff2894259c47.jpg Quality Control
013b18ff17def65f759551c890df8fde0376d87d53.jpg This is when it was getting a little scary.
01a5163f061198b965bd6f708368471ff0fff86063.jpg I needed and extra ground wire. It appears that all White/Black wires are part of the ground loop so rather than steal a pin from one of the other plugs that I did not touch I decided to use a wire from the salvaged harness and solder/heat shrink the connection.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
01f8f9a6e239b01db14c9bf1d63b0913412f1fb228.jpg It WORKS! I gotta tell you I was holding my breath.... I am returning my single Din HU to Crutchfield's and the Double Din Nav HU will be here in Thursday. In the mean time I will install the amp, speakers and sub. I will take it for a drive today and let you guys know if I have any gremlins. Otherwise I will post a picture of the completed installation.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
WOW THAT IS AWESOME. Now please do it on an 2003+
I would have to buy one first! :) I just took it for a spin and everything is working. I would note that because the plug placement is different I really need to work to get the console snapped back in place. For that reason if someone was going to do this it may be a better idea to solder the pigtail to the existing harness rather than repin...
 

chford

SILVER Star
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
100
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Holy sh!t...YOU DID IT!!! That's fantastic!

Now I'm going to have to get the cojones to do this myself. I have no skills with wiring.

I'm waiting with baited breath (whatever that means) for you to complete this. FINISH STRONG!
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Portland, OR
Holy sh!t...YOU DID IT!!! That's fantastic!

Now I'm going to have to get the cojones to do this myself. I have no skills with wiring.

I'm waiting with baited breath (whatever that means) for you to complete this. FINISH STRONG!
If you were closer I would say bring your rig by and we would knock it out... If you were not comfortable with rebuilding the connectors, I would recommend clipping wires and solder/heat shrink as it will give a little more room.
 

plirky

 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
57
Location
Portland, OR
If you were closer I would say bring your rig by and we would knock it out... If you were not comfortable with rebuilding the connectors, I would recommend clipping wires and solder/heat shrink as it will give a little more room.
Hey, I'm close! I just need to source the parts ;)
 
Top Bottom