Parasitic draw coming from radio

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by jvincig01, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I am having some challenges with the electrical on my rig. It turns out I have a parasitic draw from my radio that is using significant electricity even when the radio and rig is off. The keys are also out of the ignition. Here is what is happening....

    - I have a "universal" harness
    - The radio is wired correctly. One wire to the battery, the other to the ignition. The wires are clearly labeled so I am certain I have this wired correctly.
    - The radio DOES NOT turn on or off with the ignition (stock ignition switch). I cant figure out why.
    - I have to turn the radio off manually.
    - Even with everything (radio included) completely off and the key out of the ignition, I am drawing around 100 mA.
    - This constant draw beat the heck out of my battery so I had to replace it.

    Any suggestions on how to remedy this? I purchased a new harness that connects to the radio (Apline). I hope that will solve the parasitic draw problem but what do I do about it not turning off/on with the ignition?

    Thanks for you help or any advice you may have.

    Josh
     
  2. 3_puppies

    3_puppies SILVER Star

    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Helena MT
    what kind of radio?
    does the radio have a clock?
     
  3. Living in the Past

    Living in the Past SILVER Star

    Messages:
    15,688
    Likes Received:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    X2
    If it is digitial and hold stations it has a contant power supply.
     
  4. mrboatman

    mrboatman GOLD Star

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    702
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Location:
    Southern Nevada
    X3
    Memory in the radio is a constant draw. That wire that is going from radio to battery.
    JP
     
  5. 89GASHOG

    89GASHOG

    Messages:
    3,796
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    774
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Location:
    The Last Frontier
    Josh,

    Did you know Andre the Giant? :D

    I discovered the same issue with my old Eclipse radio/CD player that someone else had wired. Putting a switch on the ground connection, which was dangling in a convenient manner under the dash, has apparently solved the problem. So, maybe you could figure out how to do something similar-put a switch in the wiring somewhere.
     
  6. kevos37

    kevos37 Just another day in Paradise SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    466
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Paradise, CA
    Josh,

    You mentioned the radio is an Alpine. Is it new or used?

    Kevo
     
  7. B y r o n

    B y r o n

    Messages:
    919
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    KY
    You mention that the radio does not turn off with the ignition, that leads me to believe that it is not wired correctly to the ignition. It should be wired to a wire or pole that only has power when the key is on or in the accessory position. In this configuration it would turn off when the key is off. Since it doesn't it apparently is wired to an always on wire which means the radio is never off which it probably leading to your battery drain. Once corrected the wire to the battery will only provide power to keep the radio memory from going away and should be a minimal draw.
     
  8. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Alpine UTE-42BT . Yup. Has a clock.
     
  9. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    If I disconnect that wire, would it work correctly? I suppose I could snip it and see how it goes. What does that do for my balance, bass, treble? I have it balanced just right to blast Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd. ;)
     
  10. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    It was new when I bought it 2 years ago.:cheers:
     
  11. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I wish I knew Andre!

    I have thought about putting it on a switch. Not a bad idea. Ideally it would work the way its supposed to so I am giving it my best shot.
     
  12. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I triple checked this. My rig harness labeled the wires nicely. One says "radio ignition" and the other says "radio constant". On the harness coming out of the radio, the red wire goes to the ignition and yellow states it goes to the constant.
     
  13. 1969FJ

    1969FJ

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    489
    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Location:
    Arizona
    Which wire are you using in your setup ? Red or yellow ? Also, the wire you are using for power, where did you attach it ?
     
  14. jvincig01

    jvincig01

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    667
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I am using both the one labeled "radio ignition" and "Radio constant". They are both red and come from the fuze box. They attach to the Alpine harness which has a red and a yellow. Red is ignition and yellow is the constant. IMG_2996.JPG

    View attachment 1789624
     
  15. B y r o n

    B y r o n

    Messages:
    919
    Media:
    9
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    KY
    Deleted.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
  16. mrboatman

    mrboatman GOLD Star

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    702
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Location:
    Southern Nevada
    If you disconnect the Yellow wire your radio will work fine. When you turn off your key your clock and any saved radio stations will go away or not retain memory. So you will have to reset the clock and reset your radio station every time you turn your key on or start your truck.
    JP
     
  17. 1969FJ

    1969FJ

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    489
    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Location:
    Arizona
    That is not very good. The whole issue is to keep these and the clock on . The issue is parasitic draw. I believe just one radio may draw > .025 a. New cars draw around .080 a. So, a battery should be able to live with a small draw and recharge will bring it back. My newer vehicle draws 45 ma and a month can go by without a start and it is go to go.
     
  18. DougAustinTx

    DougAustinTx

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Maybe the red wire that is supposed to be hot only when the ignition is on, is connected to a fuse that is always hot, instead of a fuse that is only hot when the ignition is on. There is no way that the radio would remain ON if the ignition wire wasn't still getting 12v. I agree with the earlier post that stated that the station memory and the clock function is a minimal drain, maybe 10 milliamps and would take several weeks to pull down your battery.
     
  19. bikersmurf

    bikersmurf

    Messages:
    8,403
    Media:
    60
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Yellow to 12+
    Red to Acc switched (ignition)

    Is standard. If the Red isn’t switched it’ll kill your battery. I’d try disconnecting the Red and testing to see the load.

    The yellow needs to be connected for the radio to work. It will work if the yellow is connected to a switched source with the red, but all the settings will be lost (as others have mentioned).
     
  20. ginmtb

    ginmtb '74 FJ40 - my first! SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Danville, CA
    I ran a new homerun from my radio to the fusebox. That way you know for sure the power is setup correctly. Until I did that I had problems with parasitic draw and my battery dying regularly.

    There should be an open slot on the backside of the fusebox that you can run the ignition wire to. If nothing else to test it. And of course, make sure your grounds are good!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.