Orion HD

Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
227
Location
St. Louis, MO
Just put my order in for my Orion HD. AA says I can expect shipping on or about the second week of June. It comes with Orion HD iron case, twin stick kit, and electric speedo sensor. Does not have a parking brake, which works for me because I have Eldorado calipers with bult in parking brakes. I had them put the 4:1 gears 1350 rear output yoke, and the unfortunatly "skinny" front output yoke. Reason being I am mating it to a 700r4.

For those of you who do not know the Orion HD is a direct bolt in unit. It will set my rear output yoke position "just a touch" back. I paid $2300.00 (they will charge me when they build it). That is more than what I paid for the '40 in the begining.

Pics in June (hopefully).
 

cruiseroutfit

Supporting Vendor
Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
10,497
Location
Utah
Website
www.cruiseroutfitters.com
Its a stout unit for sure... I had a chance last week to play around with one :cool:

Orion_HD%20002%20(Medium).jpg
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
3,961
Location
Crawlorado.com
Website
www.crawlorado.com
no doubt they are strong units.. Im just thinking for that kind of money, why not go to something thats full 32 spline, and will clear a 700r without playing around with the skinny front drive shaft..

Yes its Centered, but if you need an orion HD how big of a deal is it to put in a Beef Centered Rear axle..

Sorry im not trying to be the negative guy, just thinking out loud..

For someone who has got the $ and just wants to drop in a beef t-case without changing other stuff, this is a good option!
 

cruiseroutfit

Supporting Vendor
Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
10,497
Location
Utah
Website
www.cruiseroutfitters.com
no doubt they are strong units.. Im just thinking for that kind of money, why not go to something thats full 32 spline, and will clear a 700r without playing around with the skinny front drive shaft.....

How many splines do you think it has ;)
(1-3/8" 32 spl F&R)

I can see the arguement in cases where it is coupled to an auto, but it has clear advantages for a manual setup.

Sure you can add a centered rear axle, or center the one you have... but then your looking at new R&P setup, lockers, shafts narrowed, etc.

I guess the right answer is, there is no right answer :D
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2005
Messages
790
Location
O-side, CA
Website
www.thelandcruiser.com
hehe, I have been bugging AA for some time now about that HD. I am sure they are getting tired of seeing my emails.

Production date has been pushed back a couple times, but I keep sitting up and waiting.

Well at least the money has been collecting interest while I have been waiting. damn does that look nice.

My old TC gets louder by the month, and I cannot spend the time on it, seeing as it is to be replaced. droool. droool.

After the HD gets in, I have no excuse not to finally get to the bodywork.
 

cruiseroutfit

Supporting Vendor
Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
10,497
Location
Utah
Website
www.cruiseroutfitters.com
whos was that kurt???


me likey

AA's #1 case... it was at their vendor booth :cool: Production models will be slightly different, they will include a custom billet top cover rather than the used OEM piece.

OlympiaFJ60 said:
Will these Orions work with the factory 4spd/5spd?

Depends... they will bolt up to a 16 spline 4spd, and 5spds (if they can be proven to exist ;)). However they will NOT currently bolt up in place of a 19 spl. H42/H41/H55F. So, if you have a late model FJ40 or FJ60, they won't work.
 

65swb45

Elder Statesman
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
30,555
Location
818-953-9230
Website
www.marksoffroad.net
AA's #1 case... it was at their vendor booth :cool: Production models will be slightly different, they will include a custom billet top cover rather than the used OEM piece.

[insert]That's good news on the cover, considering their brass plug has clearance issues with the factory covers.[/insert]

Depends... they will bolt up to a 16 spline 4spd, and 5spds (if they can be proven to exist ;)). However they will NOT currently bolt up in place of a 19 spl. H42/H41/H55F. So, if you have a late model FJ40 or FJ60, they won't work.

It will if you rebuild your trans [pre 85] with a 16 spline output shaft.;)

Of course you knew that Kurt. Just reminding the other folks.

:cheers:
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom