New User in NJ (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello! I am a new registered user but have been lurking in the background for some time. Reading up the 80's before I purchased one. A lot of good information from all users.
I am a Marine Engineer. I've worked on ships, oil rigs, power plants, and for Uncle Sam. Tinkering is a hobby of mine. I love to bring vehicles back to their glory. I come from the German car world. An enthusiast of Audi's. Specifically the B5 S4. I have restored a handful of those vehicles. I have also owned and worked on a number of Hummer H1's before that. I have wrenched on my fathers 4Runner a few times and decided to get a Toyota of my own.
Using this forum I found a vehicle for sale, contacted the seller, made a trip to look at the truck, and pulled the trigger. 1996 LX450 triple locked with 140k miles. The seller was really easy to work with and answered all my questions a best as he could. We worked out a deal and I ended up driving the truck home 1,500 miles non stop. It ran the entire time without any issues. After I got it home I uncovered a few additional items that need attention. With the help of this organization I will get this vehicle to my standard.

Known issues:
Head gasket failed a day after the long trip. #6 cylinder.
- Loss of coolant from radiator.
- Expansion tank not functioning. I put the expansion tank "straw" into a bottle of water and saw bubbles indicating exhaust gas.
- I scoped the cylinders and #6 was really clean and the next morning had a pool of water. A clean cylinder indicates steam cleaning.
No power steering cooler. Bypassed with a hose. Fluid was found to be not ATF.
Steering gear box leaking.
Front crank seal leaking. Time for new seal.
Coolant pipe (engine block to pump) leaking. Needs new oring + inspection.
Heater core leaking. Smell of coolant with heat on. Windows start to fog.
New belts needed.