Greasable vs non shackles and pins (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Can someone explain the pros and cons of greasable vs non greasable shackles and pins? Im looking to buy a full set for my build and don't know what to buy. 1970 fj40 keeping it mostly stock with front disk don't really want any lift its gonna be kept on the road mostly with light camping/off roading

The con is that drilling the holes and/or channels for the grease makes them weaker and possibly more prone to break. That said, I run all greaseable on mine and have never had one break, but others have.

The con is that drilling the holes and/or channels for the grease makes them weaker and possibly more prone to break. That said, I run all greaseable on mine and have never had one break, but others have.
Im new to this...what is the point in greasing them? Noise? Or they wear out faster without grease?

THEORETICALLY...the idea of greasing is to keep things loose and flexible. The 40 series, especially with aftermarket lift springs is inherently stiff and bouncy. Peeps desperate to try any snake oil will try any bolt-on 'solution'. What really needs to happen for real suspension relief is for the relative angle between frame, shackle and spring to improve. I call it 'the angle of the dangle.'

I sold greasable pins and shackles for a short while before I stopped believing the snake oil sales pitch. Now I sell adjustable-width shackles, which I believe are much more important than greasability.

FWIW, I've been wheeling Landcruisers for over 30 years, NEVER run greasable shackles, and never had squeaking issues with bushings. Just wear them out with intended use.

Last edited:
The greaseable shackles are a lot nicer when you have to take them apart in the future no fused rubber to rusted bolt.