Front end squeak - upper/lower control arms. Toyota dealership vs local (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My front suspension and steering have started getting really squeaky. Took it to Toyota dealership and their diagnosis was that upper and lower control arms and ball joints all need replacing. They quoted me $4k for the work. Local shop will do the lot for $1.2k but with ISG (international suspension group) parts. Any reason I should go with Toyota??

What do you use your vehicle for? Is it stock? Lifted? Details

OME nitro charger shocks, Slee heavy rear springs, BFG KO tires. Vehicle is my full-time home, lots of dirt roads, some moderate passes and a Baja trip in the not so distant future.

Did they give you any more details, or let you come back and see the condition? I'm an assistant service manager at a Toyota dealership, and they should have at least supported their recommendations. I can look up parts or labor times if you need to verify anything. But I can't imagine a squeak needs all that work.

I have some similar symptoms and addressing some things this weekend to see if it fixes. If you are lifted just replace OEM UCAs with SPC. I bet price to new OEM is similar.

Cruiser outfitters has ball joints and while Toyota will want to do whole LCA you can just do ball joints for a fraction of price (labor not cheapest though if you don't do it yourself). If those don't fix squeek, you may need to do bushings, which I don't know much about, but are probably a bit of a pain to get in and do.

When do you hear squeak? Turning at stop/low speeds or when wheel has to go up and down?

Helps to provide year and mileage on your truck and any other relevant service history when posting.