BJ75 Gearbox differences (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys, its my first time post here. I looked for the answer using search, but could not find appropriate one.

So, I have an option to buy new gearbox for BJ75 1988.
That new gearbox has Toyota part no. 33030-60620.
It appears to be factory standard for 1984-1985 production years.
According to my vehicle VIN JT1V0BJ7509003124, the gearbox should be 33030-60501.

Question:
Can this 33030-60620 be fitted to my BJ75? I do not need PTO winch my car used to have.

No one I asked, seems to know the difference between 33030-60620 and 33030-60501.
Maybe someone knows it. Thank you in advance!

I attached few pics of the new gearbox.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

the 60620 transmission shows for early trucks.

The 60501 is for later trucks.

The differences are in the cast iron case and especially front input shaft construction. The early uses a 90mm bearing and the later a 92mm bearing. You can use the early w/o issue completely installed if the right price. A 3b 5 speed is 3B 5 speed.

If you can, try to keep your old input shaft and bearing retainer (the thing the throw out bearing slides on) for resale. IT does require a partial tear down to get the input but those may be transplanted into the commonly available -60450 h55 in the US which is only for gas and 2H diesel applications.

Rebuilding your own transmission is not an option?

Not sure on the part number compatibility, but you should be able to check the spline count and shaft length and compare to yours to verify fitment. But I"m guessing you don't want to pull yours out just yet.

That's nice looking transmission though, is it a 5 speed?

the 60620 transmission shows for early trucks.

The 60501 is for later trucks.