any cheap easy ways to get alittle more power? 3fe (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
first off let me start off by saying I'm a noob to this website and 80s ive owned a few pickups and got a 81 pickup trailrigs... this is the first 80 ive ever owned also my first post here
...I recently bought a 92 80 its sitting on a 3.5 inch old man emu lift riding on 35 in bfg krawlers...it needed some work when I got it pinion seals /axle seals bad.. was running rough but I got it for such a good deal I didn't mind working on it....after some research it led me to this site...which I must say is one of the best sites with a TON of info and knowledge ... I found all the answers I needed for the repairs on here and got everything fixed and its running GREAT and couldn't be more pleased...
so my question is what if any cheap easy mods can I do to get alittle more power out out my 3fe?i know they are slow and not meant to be fast and I am perfectly fine with that... just looking for ideas to open her up alittle bit...
also my exhaust is about shot...I would like to get rid of the cats(as long as it wont hurt anything I don't need to worry about emissions here in NC) and get rid of this texas sized muffler...what is a decent exhaust setup for this that has a nice mild tone nothing to crazy loud I just like to hear my trucks when I driving lol

as I stated this is my first fj80 I'm looking forward to learning all about it and this seems like the perfect place to start since there seems to be a wealth of knowledge on here

thanks!

If you've got stock differential gears pushing your 35s, that's the problem right there.

If so, re-gearing or downsizing your tires will help a ton.

Welcome!

Free…Tighten your transmission kick down cable and your throttle cables to spec. Advance your timing to a point of no detonation.