Another SBC TBI Problem Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
First of all, let me apologize because I am not a mechanic and I have a lot of information to convey so I hope it makes sense.

Problem:
My car is a 1968 FJ40 with a Chevy 350 TBI swap. It starts and runs but it overheats and once it is warm (not overheated) it backfires through the intake under load. The engine doesn't feel particularly powerful at any time, but especially once it warms up. Also, once it is warm it will not start again if you turn it off, the starter runs and runs and the engine never starts (there is spark, confirmed with timing light).

Backstory:
I bought my 1968 FJ40 in 2011. It came with a 1971 SBC 350, Carter 600cfm AFB carb, Offenhauser intake, HEI conversion, and SM465 to stock 3-speed transfer case. After I rebuilt the carb it ran great on the roads, except I live less than an hour from the Fordyce Creek area and love the mountains. The elevation and angles in rock crawling made it impossible to keep the carb.
So, I did a junkyard TBI conversion with parts from several different folks on Craigslist, but kept my original heads and block (I will call this Conversion 1). In this conversion it just never ran right (overheating, backfiring through intake) so I bought a complete motor/harness/computer out of a 1995 K2500 truck thinking that at least I would know that all the parts are from the same vintage. I ended up swapping the top end and wiring from the 95 onto my original block because the old block was in better shape than the 1995 block (Conversion 2).
I put it all together and it ran first try, but immediately began to show the same symptoms.

This leads me to think that there is some condition that exists in both my first and second TBI swap.