93 Transmission Rebuild or something else? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Friends:

I have a '93 FJ80 with >150K miles on it. She recently started spewing trans fluid from the bell housing when the engine is running. To me it seems as if a seal has gone bad that's letting the trans fuild get sucked into the bellhouse, but I'm not an expert on these things.

However, I've been getting quotes from my local transmission shops on options. All of them are telling me I likely need a full trans rebuild to the tune of $3K plus. While I haven't had anyone drop the transmission yet to verify the real problem, does fully rebuilding the trans sound like the appropriate course of action? If so, does $3K sound realistic for a trans rebuild?

Thanks in advance!

Hey Friends:

I have a '93 FJ80 with >150K miles on it. She recently started spewing trans fluid from the bell housing when the engine is running. To me it seems as if a seal has gone bad that's letting the trans fuild get sucked into the bellhouse, but I'm not an expert on these things.

However, I've been getting quotes from my local transmission shops on options. All of them are telling me I likely need a full trans rebuild to the tune of $3K plus. While I haven't had anyone drop the transmission yet to verify the real problem, does fully rebuilding the trans sound like the appropriate course of action? If so, does $3K sound realistic for a trans rebuild?

Thanks in advance!

Not common. Check hoses around outside of bell housing and above transmission.

Otherwise, it could be the seal to the torque converter. If the truck has sat for years, seals may have dried out.

Also check to make sure it's not a power steering hose with a hole in it spraying oil back that direction. Are you actually losing oil from the transmission? These transmissions are very robust.