22re temp sensor and more (8 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
i am new to toyota. my 22re 1994 is in need of having a new aftermarket water temp gauge installed, but i cant find where to install sending unit, because there are two sending units. I believe that one is for the efi and the other is warer temp. i have a strange build and a one of a kind build. thank you out of focus

Dude, you need manual.

There are THREE temperature related sensors/senders. Two are "sensors" (one is actually a temperature switch) at the front of the engine near the thermostat housing, one green, one brown, that are for the EFI. There is a third temperature sender for the gauge. It's located on the intake manifold between cylinders #2 and #3. If you are installing an aftermarket gauge you can abandon this sender, install a metric adapter, and use the 1/8" sender that will come with the gauge.

Now, if you had an older 22RE, the sender is where I said, but there is a second plug where you could install an aftermarket sender.

Looking for my picture.

Found it.

The sender pointing to the left with the blue connector is the factory sender. The sender point up with the nut and ring terminal is my aftermarket sender.

The senders are reversed from factory. Normally the port where my factory sender is would be plugged with an allen head plug.

The gizmo out for focus in the upper left is my cold start injector for reference.

attachment.php

Yep, my 85 has it. The 1994 I have doesn't. Thinking about trying to drill and tap it and see what happens.

i thought about drilling one of the spares to see how it would work, do you have spares, if not i can drill one of mine first so if by some chance it is thin you will not ruin yours.