New flange to adapt 84+ drive shaft to 80 pinion flange (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

caladin

Noob, but trying to learn
SILVER Star
Threads
Website
bz93.com
I'm sure this is a super basic question, but I'm a 1 bannana mechanic, and I don't even know what to google to get the right parts.

I swapped the trans out of an 85, into my 80, (because the original trans was toast, and i had the 85 already

I put 85 drive shafts in because the lengths were right, but only 2 holes line up where the drive shaft.

Can anyone tell me what parts I need to get to change out the flange on the axle side to match the 80 pinions flanges?

I tried just drilling the rear pinion flange and it turned into a mess, breaking like 3 11mm drillbits, before my brother told me just to swap the flanges.

If there is a walk-through on swapping them, that would be awesome too.

Thanks,

Eric-

what i did originally was just swap the 80 slip yolk onto the 85 shaft.

all truck flanges are the same, other than the bolt holes.
just buy a couple of 84+ flanges and swap them out.
the 80 should have solid spacers, so you don't have to reset pinion preload.

I'm sure this is a super basic question, but I'm a 1 bannana mechanic, and I don't even know what to google to get the right parts.

I swapped the trans out of an 85, into my 80, (because the original trans was toast, and i had the 85 already

I put 85 drive shafts in because the lengths were right, but only 2 holes line up where the drive shaft.

Can anyone tell me what parts I need to get to change out the flange on the axle side to match the 80 pinions flanges?

I tried just drilling the rear pinion flange and it turned into a mess, breaking like 3 11mm drillbits, before my brother told me just to swap the flanges.

If there is a walk-through on swapping them, that would be awesome too.

Thanks,

Eric-