FJ60 Radio

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by Shane1981, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    I am puzzled as to why i could not find my answer using the search function so i find myself starting yet another radio thread.

    My question is what is the component that is mounted under the dash pictured. I have removed my dash so i can fabricate some brackets to mount a single DIN CD player and found this electrical component. The wires plug into the peakers and go to the spot where the headunit would normally go (it dindn't come with one.

    My best guess is it is some kind of OEM amplifier????

    My apologies if this is already covered.

    Cheers

    Shane
    DSCF3177.jpg DSCF3178.jpg
  2. renazcoracing

    renazcoracing

    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Ca
    I'm curious as to what you come up with regarding a DIN bracket.
    I'm working on the same project and thought about modifying a plastic DIN underdash box and fit it from the inside. Removing the OEM radio support brackets and making a U shaped bracket using the stock mounting points.
    It's going to take some creativity no doubt and having the dash out will certainly make it a lot easier.
  3. SDFJ60JFK

    SDFJ60JFK

    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Western SD
    I used fiber glass and attached the basket for the radio the the dash pad. The whole is larger that the radio but center it up and it will look pretty good. I also aimed my radio slightly to the driver side. About 3/16". Works pretty good.

    John
  4. cbmontgo

    cbmontgo SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Colorado
    That is strange. Looks like OEM, but mine does not have that. I don't think mine has those bolt locations under the dash either.
  5. 2mbb

    2mbb SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,527
    Location:
    WC, CA
    Shane: does that thing have a part number? Isn't it located where the speaker should be?
  6. cbmontgo

    cbmontgo SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wait...that's right...that is the speaker location, so definitely not a factory device in my opinion.
  7. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    I will post pics of my bracket when done, i plan on doing a 2 piece setup so it can be easily removed.

    The part number on my thing is 86280-90A00, it defintely has a OEM look about it all the brackets and screws are very original and non modified, my speakers are in the doors.
  8. 2mbb

    2mbb SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,527
    Location:
    WC, CA
    It's a toyota (or related) part number. I can try to look it up tonight on my EPC. Googling the entire part number didn't get any hits,but just the first five digits, reveals it's a toyota amplifer of some kind, but probably not from an FJ60.

    toyota 86280 - Google Search
  9. jvazquez53

    jvazquez53

    Messages:
    2,866
    Location:
    San Juan Puerto Rico
    I'm about to install all the vents and a radio. For what I see in the pictures, do I have to remove the whole dash assembly? :eek:
  10. 2mbb

    2mbb SILVER Star

    Messages:
    4,527
    Location:
    WC, CA
    Well this does show up as an original Land Cruiser amplifier for a General (not US, not Japan, not Europe) Land Cruiser. So where does your vehicle come from?
    amplifier.jpg
  11. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    That's awesome 2mbb, my cruiser is Australian. I guess i won't need it though as my Alpine headunit will have all the required amplification.

    Jvazquez53 you don't really need to take the dash out to install a headunit there is probably a million ways to do it with the dash in place but it only takes about 10 minutes to pull it out and i thought it would be easier to do it that way. Personal preference really.

  12. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    Nothing fancy but here is my bracket for my headunit in my 60 series.
    DSCF3179.jpg DSCF3185.jpg DSCF3184.jpg
  13. commostud

    commostud

    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    wetside of washington
    Where do I get a radio bracket? I don't have the tools or the materials to make one. So I need to buy one. My kenwood is just flopping around in the radio hole... Looks very ghettoooo
  14. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    After an extensive search of this forum and the internet in general i concluded that such a bracket does not exist, therefore i built my own. I reckon your landcruiser would be the perfect excuse to buy more tools.
  15. jvazquez53

    jvazquez53

    Messages:
    2,866
    Location:
    San Juan Puerto Rico
    Where are the screws the hold the dash?:confused:
  16. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    There are quite a few screws but once you know where they are it's really quite simple.

    1. 7 x screws that hold the glove box compartment in place, remove it completely including the door.

    2. 5 x screws that hold the instrument cluster in place (speedo etc), you just have to move the instrument cluster forward a little.

    3. 2 x screws, one at each end of the dash (can only be accessed with door open)

    4. 4 x screws on the upper edge of the climate control panel, just remove the screws but leave the panel in place.

    5. 4 x 10mm nuts, these are a little tricky, the first two are accessed through the hole where the glove box was, they are on the forward edge if the dash, they are visable in my first photo. The second two nuts are in a similar spot on the other side, they are accessed by reaching behind the instrument cluster that you moved forward a little. These 4 nuts just need to be loosened not completely removed.

    6. Now just lift and jiggle gently and the dash should come out without any force.

    7. Assemble in the reverse order, make sure you check any wiring/fittings/dashlights that you may have accidently knocked. Theres nothing worse than putting it all back together and finding out that you accidently disconnected something. Also make sure all screw holes are lined up perfectly around the consoles/trim etc before you start replaceing the screws.

    I hope this helps a little if you have any more questions just ask.

    Cheers
  17. renazcoracing

    renazcoracing

    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Ca
    Nice job Shane, quite the fancy brake work as well!

    I'm going to mock one up out of cardboard first and follow your lead on the bender.
  18. Shane1981

    Shane1981

    Messages:
    43
    One last thing when you make your brackets you may have to cut a bit of the edge that hangs down low, mine rubbed on the air ducting so i had to trim it a little, i haven't pictured this.

Share This Page