Alternator conversion ext regulated to internal using DXA430 80 amp (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all.
Looking for some guidance in converting alternator wiring.
New alternator has 3 wire connection .... IG which i assume is ignition L which is Charge light and S which is voltage sense.
I had a 6 wire regulator

So i am going to use original harness going to alternator ig reg to ig on alt L on reg to L on alt and i hope B on reg to S on alt.
Of course battery wire will be upgraded to carry extra amps.
I hope i have it right.
I have gleaned as much as i can from this site on previous posts regarding this and i am an electrician, so i have half a chance of getting it right.
All comments welcome.
Thankyou

I’m not sure about the wiring but tell us more about the alternator? Oem pulley? Belt?

The alternator is exact same design , construction as the original , same pulley and belt.
This is part of the reason why I choose it as installation would be easy.
Old alternator was 45 amps and was ok but power dipped when light bar went on.
Plus we tow a camper with an Anderson plug to charge 3 batteries in it.
New alternator is 80 amp and self regulated so hence my request.
All is going well but still trying to ascertain the charge light wire on the old harness at the old regular plug end.
Found ig and s wires.
Tony

Last edited:
SUCCESS!
So i thought i would show the progress and photos to the forum which helped along the way.
Special thanks to bj40green/rudi and RAGINGMATT from ih8mud forum and the Witzi from toymods.
OK here goes.
As stated alternator chosen was a DXA430 80 amp self regulated 3 wire.
Chosen because it had the same dimensions as the original and as such would be a bolt on replacement using all original hardware.

This is the pinouts at the rear of new alternator.

Next fitted the alt to engine easy as.