Which welder is for me? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, i am new to welding and the title says it all. I am just intrested in what yalls opinions are as far as which welder is best for me and what i intend on using it for. I want to know things such as brand, type (mig/tig/stick/arc), and power rating (correct terminology?).

I plan on welding things such as shock mounts, axle armour, creeper shackle joints, bumpstops, rock sliders, reinforcing bumper mounts, front winch plate reinforcment, shackle mounts and the like.

So my question for you guys is, with so many diffrent welders on the market, which one(s) will fit my needs best?
Thank you in advance for any replies and please excuse my ignorance on welding knowledge. School me! :)

You will need a 220 volt welder.

Brand and type are up to your budget.

If you are inexperienced, a wire feed with gas will be the easiest to learn.

Thanks for the quick reply!

Hmm unfortunatly i do not have access to a 220 volt outlet (if thats what you are talking about), are there any "alternatives" or ways to get around this?

I agree. You want a 220 machine. Don't you have a drier outlet or something?

I'm a Miller guy, but there are lots of good Lincoln, Esab, and Miller machines out there. You want a MIG machine, not a TIG machine at least to start. I'd look hard on Craigs list because welding machines don't wear out, and for the major brands, parts are readily available. Look for a home fabricator on hard times who just needs some cash and buy his Miller 175 for $400.

Being able to weld will change what you do in a major way. Don't get a crappy Home Depot 110 machine just to have a welder.