TX-FJENG FJ62 gets a 5.3 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
And it starts,
I am a bit late starting a thread but wanted to document and share my learning as a possible collaboration of knowledge on my leaning. I bought this 62 with original paint No rust and run great but wanted a 5.3 from the start so being a engineer I over complicated things and did lots of research. When I get it in I will share the final version of the parts list / Price.

I started this weekend and making good progress with preps.
Engine is a 2002 5.3 Drive by Wire out of a truck.. Rare and hard to find throttle parts for but low mileage. I didn't like the compression test so tore it down and replaced rings and lapped the valves. I know it was low mileage due to the original rings were still in spec on the butt gap.

Up until this point all I did was build a front bumper which ill share as well and drive it.
62 bumper.JPG

IMG_4909.JPG
IMG_4920.JPG
IMG_4923.JPG
IMG_4924.JPG
IMG_4926.JPG
Bumper Build.. Designed it and had the pieces broke by a local shop then fit and welded. Sure sound simple in those few words but I wanted a clean winch bumper tucked as close as i could.

5.3 has some tar like gunk in the valves and had bad compression so I tore it apart and reworked it. and now it has awesome compression and is FRESH, feels good to know exactly when you drop a "unknown" engine in.
IMG_0810.JPG
IMG_5009.JPG
IMG_5040.JPG
IMG_5044.JPG

Now for the engine PULL, not as bad as I thought only took about 3 hrs by my self. With the right equipment it makes it easier. My engine Hoist is the where it is at.
IMG_5071.JPG
IMG_5072.JPG
IMG_5074.JPG
IMG_5075.JPG
IMG_5077.JPG

:popcorn:

Update Engine Wiring and Fuel piping:
I reinstalled all of the Engine Bay equip after I painted it and traced out all of my wires and removed the Main EFI Relay and the Fuel Pump relay.