Taming This Oily Beast (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I’ve put this project off as long as I could but the day of reckoning is here. Any suggestions and how I should approach cleaning this oily beast?

Here’s the challenge:

I live in an established subdivision surrounded by neighbors, concrete & grass that I don’t want to kill

The engine was running fine and I have no plans to tear it down.

I plan to replace all of the hoses and belts in a systematic fashion

I’m not experienced enough to be sure I could get all of the emissions related plumbing back on correctly if I did a wholesale removal of it

I plan to protect all the electrical components and carb

What product can I use to clean this thing that don’t have be hose off or alternatively have you come up with a creative way to trap the runoff so It doesn’t run all over the driveway?

upload_2017-6-25_18-22-40.jpeg

upload_2017-6-25_18-23-10.jpeg

upload_2017-6-25_18-23-58.jpeg

upload_2017-6-25_18-24-43.jpeg

Simple Green and a stiff brush.Spray on,let sit,hit the heavy spots with the brush.Rinse with a hose.Repeat as needed.

Do all this in the neighbors driveway when you know they will be away for a bit :hillbilly:

I'd use a putty knife to scrape the big stuff off, catch it all on a cheap Harbor freight tarp or old towel or what ever, then just put the mess in the trash. I'd follow that with straight simple green as posted above.

This is my new favorite tool. About 5 bucks at Lowe's or Home Vato. Holds about a quart and you can pump it up and adjust spray pattern from a stream to a fan. Works great with the simple green. Kinda like a mini pressure washer.
022.JPG