Builds Sean's j4 build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys welcome to my build! To startoff, im fairly new to the cruiser lifestyle and offroad drivin (compared to some of you others on here) But my intentions are simple, build a bad ass fj40 that will do well on the trails, rocks and also be somewhat of a daily driver (i.e. beer runs and auto parts chaser) Eaiser said than done. Well after lots of planning, configuring and mainly just staring at parts I finally have some solid ideas on the setup. Basically the combo will be,

Fj40 tub cut to 45 tub with 3in added
Fj80 frame axles ect.
Fjz80 rear axle
Nv4500
Fj60 t case
5.3l lq9
37mtr
This is gonna be as much fun to build as it'll be to drive!

Forgot to take more pics but did get these

20150916_093259.jpg

As it sits here, I'd say the cab could go back about 2-3in to fit the wheel well better, any suggestions appreciated

Oh, this is going to be a good one.:popcorn:
The 1fz-fe generally needs to go back on the 80 frame to look proportionate to a J4 body, which means you loose the gas tank. But if you have searched you know this.
This is a option of mine that I also want to build. Mine will be a bobbed troopy or fj43 size.
Look up Redline Cruisers ute project.
Later I can share some other thought to help if you ask, don't want to derail your thread.
Here on mud, we like lots of pictures... keepem coming.

Last edited:
Ill be running a 5.3l chev engine. Hopefully i can keep the tank underneath but if not, so be it.
Also considering an fj43 size stretched tub.

Right now my idea is to have a utility type flat bed with access from the cabin to the bed to try and gain the benefits from having both the small cab and a covered bed with open cabin door.