Rust on the floor pan, behind rear heater, and rear sliding window of my '93, what to do? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Ih8mudders,

Well my goal of line-x, dynaliner, and new carpet has hit a road block as I have discovered rust in three areas so far in my newly-acquired ride. As I was removing the sound deadner on top of the drivers-side floor pan I notice that there was some rust (which I had hoped would be just surface stuff). Upon finally removing the stuck on carpet pad and deadner I found more rust, what was worse, was that it had apparently gotten so bad that now there is a hole in the floor plan. I also found rust at the base of the rear-sliding window and right in front of the rear heater that is under the center console. Check the pictures out below.

I'm still a newbie with all of this and I've seen so many different threads and posts on how to deal with the rust. Is there anything that has changed in treating rust since those posts were posted a long time ago? Is there a chemical solution that I could use to get rid of the surface rust? What mechanical stuff would I need to do? What would be the best way to deal with the hole? Cut it out and weld in some metal? If so what kind of metal is the best to use? Is it worth my while to track down a-for-parts FZJ80 and get the floor pan out of it? So many questions and I all I want to do is get it done so I can work on other items on the ride. I appreciate any help and my apologies if I missed a post or two out there which could have gotten me the answer.

Best!

IMG_1517.JPG

IMG_1518.JPG

IMG_1520.JPG

IMG_1525 (1).JPG