Rear Wiper (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Guys,

Rear wiper on my 1994 Land Cruiser does not respond at all. Wondering if anyone on here could give me some detailed steps to figure out if I need a new motor or if there is something wrong between the switch and motor. I'm not a mechanic, so the more detailed the better if you know how to diagnose this problem. Thanks in advance.

Ryan

I'd start with the fuse and go from there. If you have a multimeter, this is a pretty straightforward diagnostic.

1. Verify the fuse is good (I don't remember which one, should be labeled--if not, check them all.
2. Verify power to the wiper motor. Check for power with switch off, and switch on; verify grounds are good. You will have to pull the inside panel off of the upper hatch. This is also a good time to make sure that the mechanical connection to the rear wiper hasn't come loose.
3. If you are getting power to the motor, then your issue is likely the wiper motor itself.
4. If no power to the motor, the right thing to do is to work backwards through the wiring harness and look for issues, but I'd skip that and check the harness for damage where it leaves the body and enters the hatch. If no damage there, you'll need to check out the combination switch on the steering column--this will require an EWD and the ability to read it.

I had this issue a few years back...

Turns out it just needed to be re-grounded, as the old grounding point had failed.

Check on your grounds before looking at sinking money into a new motor assembly.

I had this issue a few years back...

Turns out it just needed to be re-grounded, as the old grounding point had failed.

Check on your grounds before looking at sinking money into a new motor assembly.

Thanks! For a dummy like me, can you explain how I check the ground?

I'm not 100% sure to tell you the truth, I took my LX to the local dealership.