New with no Clue (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good Morning All! I am new to the Toyota world. I have some Jeeps taking up space, but a friend needs a hand and he's got an 85 4x4 standard cab pickup. I was able to find a running 22r for him, but his G52 needs replacing too. They're impossible to find, but I have seen others for sale from different years. I've seen all the tables showing what came with what, but any transmission that bolted to a 22r would fit, wouldn't it? Would it just be a matter of altering sheet metal for a different t-case shifter?
His truck needs a lot of help, so you'll see me here often. Look forward to learning about these trucks. Thanks

Welcome to Mud. I can't help you directly but MarlinCrawler and it's forum are great for all things first gen powertrain. Someone will likely come along here more knowledgeable than me but you might want to check over at Marlin in the meantime.

I'm pretty sure any W56 will bolt right up. W56-C,D,E are also forward shift like the G52 as far as the transfer case goes. I'm sure someone will chime in that knows more

Last edited:
Welcome to Mud. I can't help you directly but MarlinCrawler and it's forum are great for all things first gen powertrain. Someone will likely come along here more knowledgeable than me but you might want to check over at Marlin in the meantime.
Thank you!
I have been to that forum but did not seem to fit in there with a street machine. That's also where I learned which years were outfitted with which units.