New to the game: fresh owner of a 99 LC (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys

I was reading along your lines already for a few weeks/ months and the forum helped me to choose the right LC model: so thanks for that! :)
Just yesterday I bought a 1999 LC, 269k miles, nicely serviced and 20 years owned by the same lady, all life in California, ...

Quite some stuff has already been done in the past 1-2 years like alternator, battery, water pump/ timing, T pieces have been replaced with metal ones, new transmission cooler, ...
The paint is a little faded, but my first quick shot of polishing looks very promising and I don't have the typical clear peal :)
I'll add pics along my hours on the new ride.

I've been working for a few years on my Ford E350 including lifting, diff lock and regearing, full repaint, transmission overhaul, ... So I'm not new to working on cars as a hobby, but the LC will a new adventure.
Main reason to buy one is that our 2WD locked van is nice and fun, but after a few years doing the full PCOR, going on some more rugged rides like Leavitt Lake, CA, Toquerville Falls, Death Valley... we're ready to move into more rugged terrain where the van just doesn't fit :)

First action items will be a proper cleaning, spark plugs, coils, replace ALL fluids, brake pad/ caliper/ line check check, fuel filter, new radio, check why the sun roof gets stuck open in winter but works in summer, ... so the normal topics.
Once done I'll move on with suspension, tires and front bumper for winching and from there we'll see where we go.

I guess that's it as intro and I'll now raise my first questions in the respective threads :)

Hey guys

I’m starting my built of my 99 LC100.

Beside regular Maintainance after buying it this is the plan:
- Lift 2-2.5”
- wheels and tires (SCS F5 and MT Baja Boss AT 285/75-16 ordered)