New 70 Series V8 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
hey guys,new here ,own a 80 series now but graduated from a JDM bj74,I work as a tech in a toyota dealership and saw an article for the new 70 series(available down here from jan 07) new sheet metal on the front,and wait for it a v8 turbo diesel with 151kw (same as 1hdfte) but 430nm from 1200rpm!! should be a beast,no petrol option down here as petrols quite pricey,cant wait to do a pre delivery on one!! will try to get some more info soon:)

Sounds cool, with the new Hilux's being more & more road oriented there'll probably be good demand for a new 70 series.

Cheers
Clint

yep hilux has gone soft/tacoma/american(dare i say it!!) also gona come out as a 5 door too so should steal some prado sales which are just an overated hilux surf/ fj cruiser down here

pics

i`ll see what i can do, the info i saw had just a black & white line drawing on the front

From here in SA

The test Vehicles are in Durban ! No photos allowed but there may be some on the web as as Australia's launch is earlier than SA.
Not a huge difference, slightly more modern front with altered wheel arches and plastic bumper.
Meetings in Jhb today put the likely price for RV troopie at about R330K,
At the mo the engine is standard non turbo 4,2 diesel and likely to stay for a year or so after which time that diesel won't conform to new emission standards and will probaly get same motor as landcruiser 200, a 4,4l twin turbo.
Rv version comes with 4 doors plus rear , ie 6 doors which is great and 5 seats, auto free wheel hubs, diff lock, alloy wheels, long range tanks, Heavy duty suspension , 40mm higher than standard, aircon and elec windows.

Forget the rumours, I have seen the new vehicles today !! no photos allowed A Diesel Troopie RV 4,2 ( no turbo) and petrol 4.5 and diesel pickup will launch in March 2007.