Builds Locked79's Build Thread. Vdj79 + Fzj105 = ? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Locked79

SILVER Star
Threads
I thought I might start a thread detailing my latest project. This is to help people who might be thinking of doing the same and to try and nut out some of the problems I'm having. I'm not good at writing these kind of things so please bare with me.

What I wanted was a solid axle vehicle with coil springs all round, a torquey motor, diesel, manual box, and a full size tray to haul my gear around. I had to be comfortable enough to travel 1200km a week for work and still be capable enough to tackle the cape and Simpson desert. It will eventually have a removable camper setup on the back. Nothing really fitted the bill except maybe the GU patrol turbo 6, but I'm a toyota guy so I thought why not build one.

So I started off with this
20140415_170030.jpg

2012 VDJ79r. I picked it up cheap enough at the auctions so that if this project didn't eventuate, I could sell it off as parts and still make my money back. It's a parts vehicle so I cant use the chassis or cab. All other parts and panels will be used in my build. Its a flood damage vehicle so it can't be re-registered as is.

I bought it condition unknown, I didn't know if it ran or had engine damage. I visually check it over, oil wasn't milky, no water in the headlights, no mud or silt inside so I took the gamble. They picked it up with a forklift and loaded it on my car trailer,that didn't look promising.