FZJ80 Narrow Skinny tires (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Right, so I think this is my first post, although I’ve consumed hours of posts, so here goes...

I have a triple locked FZJ80, stock. I want to try tires I’ve never tried before (which is anything outside of a gentle all-terrain), and I have an itch for skinnies. 235/85r16 or 255/85r16 would be ok. I’m leaning towards the Nankang Mudstar in 235/85r16 and I would like to know if anyone has mounted those on an 80, especially on the stock aluminum wheel 16x8 which Nankang says is ok according to docs. Yes I do have flares, no extra weight in bumpers, armor, etc, and yes it may look funky. I could always get 16x7 wheels later if I love the size.
Nankang Mudstar specs

For some reason, the tire I really want to try is the Interco Narrow SS TSL
Narrow SS TSL
I just want to try a ‘real’ Narrow tire and have fun, but I’d like to know if anyone has ever tried that tire on an 80. Should be around a 34x9.5

Would you care to offer advice, or have experience with a 235/85 tire that would fit the 16x8 aluminum wheel?

Interesting move and one I support. The trend to huge wide tires has forgotten some basic tire contact patch physics that favors longer narrower ground contact and I think you'll be pleased with the traction the higher pressure per square inch will get you. Fuel economy as well.