F2 carb on a 71? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am a newbie...yes my bezel is on upside down still...flame away.

Question wil a carb for an 2F motor fit amd work decently on my stock 71? I searched but was unsuccessful in finding an answer.

Last edited:

Question wil a carb for an 2F motor fit amd work decently on my stock 71? I searched but was unsuccessful in finding an answer.

I am not 100% sure if it will fit on the intake but a 2F uses a throttle linkage while your 71 will have a cable. The pedal is also different.

Might be quicker/easier/cheaper to source a Trollhole or Aisin F carb than retrofit a 2f carb.

@Jdc1 is correct here. I also have a 71. note that the pedal assembly in 1971 controls the carb via a cable. After the original engine seized, I transplanted a complete later model 2F into my 40 whose carb was controlled by a rod linkage assembly. I purchased a later model "pedal to carb" linkage assembly from a member on MUD. Making everything link up and enlarging the firewall holes, etc made me reconsider adapting the an older truck to the rod linkage setup.

If you can, many on MUD swear by factory fit as best. Look for an early style carb that is cable controlled. I opted for a Weber, that is also cable controlled, and it works well.

@Jdc1 My fuse block is on the gas pedal side, low firewall mounted. I have been told by some on MUD that this is incorrect and should be on the clutch pedal side. Either way, its been there a long time and seems to work correctly, so I'm leaving it. :steer:

Thanks guys for the posts. Good points, I was not aware the 2F was rod actuated.

When do you guys meet next in the Austin area?

Fwiw I am selling my Ct-5 ping me back if you know of someone in the area.