Engine swap For LJ78 in Malawi: Advice needed (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, joined hoping for a bit of help with a project I have. I work as a field biologist with an NGO in Malawi. I was recently assigned the responsibility of sourcing and overseeing the replacement of the engine in our LJ78.

First off, can someone just confirm that this is an LJ78, and the engine is a 2L-TE? For some reason it's registration paperwork says it's a 2003 3.0D. And due to some wonderful records mixups, that's all the information anyone has on it.

From that point, I'd love suggestions on good (ideally cheaper) engines to replace this one. We're going to buy from the South African market. At this point I still don't know the full story on what happened to the engine (staff here rotates out yearly which wreaks hell on our operations continuity). Will update later with more info.

Thanks a ton for any and all help!

I still have my wrenches from fixing our Zephyr in Malawi in ‘75. Phew, long time ago.
I’m a member of this forum, based out of SA. There might be help here too. I will send this along to a friend who might be able to help but we’re in Victoria Canada so only offer advice.

From the pictures, that does appear to be a 2LTE. Is it auto or manual transmission? If manual, swapping new motors in will be easier.

Your cheapest, easiest and most reliable swap option is a 3L (2.8l normally aspirated diesel). The downside is they're a little underpowered. But in Africa that probably doesn't matter. I'm pretty certain they ended up in your market via the early 90's Hilux pick-ups.

Probably the best option for making more power is the 1KZ-T or 1KZTE. These are a 3.0l turbo diesel. Will be more expensive though. And you'll have to change engine mounts. The electronic version will be more involved with wiring changes.