Builds Cummins R2.8 in 2nd gen 4Runner (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.cumminsrepower.com
I'm an engineer at Cummins on the Repower Program, and started my own personal Cummins R2.8 swap last night - it's going into a 2nd gen (1993) 4Runner to be my daily driver. I haven't gotten into anything too exciting just yet, just got the 3.0L pulled out to start cleaning up the engine bay. Transmission will come out tonight. My plan is to use a new AX15 from Advance Adapters along with the R2.8 to 4.0L Flywheel/housing adapter from Axis. Engine side mounts are also from Axis, and transfer case is up in the air - Atlas to bolt directly to the back of the AX15, or stick with Stock Toyota and source an adapter...

4Runner before.jpg

4runner after.jpeg

For now, I just need to figure out how to make the engine fit....

You can check out some of our latest adventures at: Cummins Repower Blog
Or my terrible acting at: Cummins Repower Garage
(hopefully I follow my own advice...)

Awesome! That engine is perfect for the 4Runner! Can't wait for your build.

Will you be mating the AX15 to the stock Toyota transfer case?

Why was the Aisin AX15 picked as the gear box vs say the similar Toyota R154 from a Supra or even a Toyota (Aisin) R151F out of turbo 4Runner's?

Cool project.

:cheers:

I was going to use the Toyota (Aisin) R150 that came in my 4runner, but it has 220k miles on it and I figured with the new engine, I might as well swap in a new transmission. I had the AX15 left over from another project, and with it being a very similar transmission anyway, I figured it was as good a fit as any of the other Aisin's that officially came in the Toyotas.