Coolant Color Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So this may be a total noob question, but i'm confused. So I noticed today when I was changing out the fender aprons (old ones were gone) that my radiator appears to be leaking. I don't see any crusting but I did see a single drop sitting on the frame rail. It looks like there was a tiny amount on the garage floor. I looked in the coolant tank, and it was below the "low" line but I could look down into the tank and it looked orange. The drop on the frame rail also looked orange. So i took a paper towel and rolled it up and stuck it down in the tank to suck a bit of the coolant up. When it was on the paper towel, it definitely wasn't bright orange, it just looked like a very light red, maybe very light orange. I dabbed the orange "glop" on the frame rail, and it was the same exact color tone. So from a distance in the light it looks orange, but on the paper towel it seems like a much lighter color. So since I'm not going to be able to replace the radiator immediately, what kind of coolant should I put in the coolant tank to keep it topped off? I didn't see the leak initially but I did a 500 mile round trip this weekend for camping and I noticed it when I got home and took the wheel off. I have to wonder if I hadn't looked a couple hours after turning it off i'm wondering what it would have looked like and maybe that's why I hadn't noticed it before was it had been sitting a few days.

Last edited:
considering the Lexus dealer likely put the Lexus coolant in, maybe you should do the same ? :idea:

Toyota/Lexus red.

Toyota/Lexus red.