bj73 possible engine swaps? (1hz) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

Picking up a new BJ in a week or so, it has 700,000kms on the 3b N/A engine. was thinking it will need a new one eventually, how hard is it to chuck a 1hz in? I have very little mechanical knowledge and would be paying someone to do it.

Thanks

Easier and cheaper to use a 15B FT from a Toyota Dyna . It will sit in the same position, bolt to your gearbox ,every thing will be in the same place. I think the clutch is slightly bigger so you have to grind something off inside the bell housing
The 15B is 4.1 litre and there is also a 3.7 litre 14B
The 1 in front of the numbers means it is direct injection. These engines with a turbo can give you similar power to the turbo 6 cyl.
I would recommend you try and do some of the work your self and pay someone to do things you cant do.
Lots of info on this forum for 1st timers.

been searching for those engines for a while now and no luck, will look harder if there easiest. Thanks heaps, yeh I’m not the most mechanical person but can try so some things, likley most be mechanic so lots $$ I know I’m prepared

Have you tried truck wreckers and engine importers? Engine importers could ask their man in Japan to have a look for you.
THE 1HZ has a different length input shaft on the gearbox, which means you would have to pull the gearbox apart and the transfer case as well, which mean new bearings,seals and gaskets. That in itself will run into $3000. You will also have to remove the old engine mounts welded to the frame and have new ones welded on. Then you will need the 1HZ radiator
By sticking with an engine from the B family you can use a lot of existing components already in the engine bay ad probably the glow system , tacho sensor ect