bigger headlight wiring question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
so, tried search, apparently I can't find the wright words for the search. I want to upgrade the headlight wiring to bigger wires to get max performance. I keep hearing about the headlights being wired differently than "normal" cars. Anyone got a wiring diagram or good explanation of what I need to do? I'm not good with electrics, but can follow directions :) Thanks.

You can buy a pre-made harness (such as the IPF we offer, bottom of page) or build your own:
IMG_1687.PNG

(Pretty old school diagram found on web, search "headlight harness wiring upgrade diagram" and you'll find a bunch)

A kit is the way to go. I didn't think they were wired differently. I cant see why they would be.

No difference in wiring, we've run the IPF kits on them. Even if they were grou switched you would just swap around the switch leg (86/85) on the relays.

Usually, the current runs from the battery (or power source) to a switch, then to the device, then routes back to the battery.

It seems that Toyota puts the switch in line After the device. The switch is on the negative or ground sde of the device.
So battery, line to relay, relay, switch, then gounded to frame of car.

For your idea, its the wires connecting relays to lights, connections 85 and 87 on Kurts diagram, that you want to beef up.

Last edited:
I had to totally re-engineer my 24v fog light controls.
I did it exactly as shown by Kurt. I never thought to look for a kit.