1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any advice for my painting experiment wanted...

Discussion in 'Paint and Body' started by baldboy, Feb 28, 2007.

1. baldboy

baldboy SILVER Star

I was able to get a color-matched single stage paint to repaint all of the places I had to do body work.

The paint recommends an 8-1-2 ratio of paint-catalyst-reducer.

I know some people will frown on this but I got one of those CO2 powered spray bottles and am getting ready to use it.

Any advice would be helpful as this is my first time mixing and applying paint. (Other than rattle cans!)

THANKS!

2. FF LC FREAK

FF LC FREAK

Media:
    Albums:
    I just did this exact same thing last night. My rig is far from resto quality, so I didn't mind the poor paint job quality that the CO2 sprayer gave me. I just wanted to cover up a few areas of bodywork, like you, and have somewhat matching color.

Tips:
    1. MULTIPLE LIGHT COATS.
    2. MULTIPLE LIGHT COATS.
    3. MULTIPLE LIGHT COATS. (Did you get that?)
    4. First, prep the area well(i.e. prime, sand, etc)

Did you get that about the multiple light coats. The reason I say that, is those CO2 sprayers put out a lot of paint quick, in big droplets. It is really easy to get runs. I tried to do the light coats, and I still got some runs. Oh well, like I said, I don't have a resto quality rig anyway. Other than the big droplets from the CO2 sprayer, I was mostly impressed with it. I wouldn't want to do a whole rig that way, but for small areas, it worked pretty well for $6.

Good luck! :cheers:

3. baldboy

baldboy SILVER Star

Man you were right about light coats.....

I got drips from one end to the other...:eek:

Ah well.... I cleaned it up and started over.

It looks pretty good for the price.

Thanks for the tips...

4. camcruiser13

camcruiser13

Media:
    Albums:
  5. baldboy

baldboy SILVER Star