‘97 gas tank replacement (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

AJP

Threads
Wondering if the cheaper gas tank on Rock Auto “LILAND GLOBAL TOL01 {#7700160380}” is an exact fit for a ‘97 lx450 …. The illustration doesn’t look like it is whereas the twice as expensive ‘Dorman’ shown on the same site seems to be identical to the factory unit … any guidance/advice/comments very welcome. This is my first attempt at the gas tank R&R although I did graft in a full fuel filler neck quite a while ago
Thanks

Wondering if the cheaper gas tank on Rock Auto “LILAND GLOBAL TOL01 {#7700160380}” is an exact fit for a ‘97 lx450 …. The illustration doesn’t look like it is whereas the twice as expensive ‘Dorman’ shown on the same site seems to be identical to the factory unit … any guidance/advice/comments very welcome. This is my first attempt at the gas tank R&R although I did graft in a full fuel filler neck quite a while ago
Thanks
Just buy a new one from Toyota.

Or get a good used one from someone like @slow95z or @arcteryx

1624313273446.png

I don't have any that can go out right now

I have a few tanks and skid plates. but they are not cheap to ship

I wouldn’t by any part for my cruiser from RockAuto. If you a new one is not in the cards source a quality used one as stated above.

Shipping is outrageous right now so be ready. Sometimes it's cheaper to pay the dealer premium once you factor in shipping cost.

thanks folks for your comments .. a quick explanation: I am in Canada ... best price I can find on an OEM tank is $943 Cdn PLUS shipping (from US). The Rock auto (cheap) option is $494 Cdn (shipping included!) with a 3 year warranty. I cant say that warranty means too much though - but I can assure everyone that my experience with the Lexus warranty on OEM replacement parts here in Canada isnt worth the paper its printed on.