80-Series Climate Control Question... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
First off, this is my first attempt at posting on one of these forums so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I'm at a loss and don't know what else to try.
I've got a 1997 Lexus LX450. I purchased it in Sept. and can't get it to blow hot air. First, the blower only works on hi so I have replaced the blower motor and have a resistor and amplifier ordered to hopefully fix that. But my main issue is the temp of the air it blows. I have the temp set to 80 degrees and I only get moderately warm air no matter where I have the air directed (floor, defroster, etc.). I checked all the heater hoses and they are all hot on both sides of each heater core, so I don't believe I've got a heater core blockage. The heater valve is working. I took the climate control unit out and moved the little switch on the back of the unit from Auto to Manual. It still only blows cold / moderately warm air. I then thought maybe I've got air in the system. So I elevated the front end a couple feet higher than the rear, removed the radiator cap and let the vehicle idle in hopes that any air would eventually escape. After two hours idling with the front end elevated I finally got nice HOT air! So, I thought I had it fixed. The next day, I put the front end back on the ground, put the radiator cap back on and cranked it up. Again, I only got cold / moderately warm air. This after idling for over an hour, so I know the engine was hot. Now I'm at a loss... Could the cabin air temp sensor be malfunctioning to make the system think it doesn't need to blow hot air? If so, wouldn't switching from Auto to Manual have eliminated this? I'm just puzzled because I got it to blow hot air once but never again. Any of you guys got any ideas?

Sounds like you're well on your way to diagnosing the problem.