1VD conversion into an Iveco daily 4x4 (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've searched a fair bit but can't find much info on this.

I've got an Iveco daily 4x4 rolling shell. I'm most of the way through putting and LS3 in it but fuel prices have made me change my mind :/

So I'm thinking about buying a wrecked 200 series or 79 series and putting a 1VD into my truck.
I've measured one up and it would fit; just.
I'd use the trans from the cruiser along with most of the wiring loom including the gauge cluster, fuse box, ECU, TCU (if 200 series), gear selector and throttle pedal.

Does anyone know what other modules a 200 series has that would need to be transferred across?

I'm not new to engine conversions, but I am new to cruisers.

The truck has a divorced transfer case. It uses a short drive shaft from gearbox to transfer case. Would it be possible to remove the cruiser transfer case and run the box without it?
Getting a drive shaft made to slide directly into the back of the gearbox. Without pulling one apart I don't know how the rear of the box is sealed.

Using the cruiser transfer case probably isn't possible as the front/rear diffs both have central pumpkins and the front drive shaft might not clear the trans/sump.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Are you sure that a VD series engine will get better fuel economy than an LS?
Haha I'd hope so! Particularly if it's the 200 series version with 6 speed auto.
The truck is about 3 ton empty, 4.5 ton GVM, 8 ton GCM and runs on 37" muddies.
So load on the engine will be pretty high.
I had a look at the economy people are getting in LS patrols on 37's and it was pretty terrible!!
Surely a diesel would be better!

Haha I'd hope so! Particularly if it's the 200 series version with 6 speed auto.
The truck is about 3 ton empty, 4.5 ton GVM, 8 ton GCM and runs on 37" muddies.
So load on the engine will be pretty high.