1985 Minitruck 1UZ swap - Bed mounted radiator - Ideas? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Box Rocket

SILVER Star
Threads
I've been researching this for a few months now and trying to get a good knowledge of how to approach this but I wanted to solicit ideas from the group here also. I've searched existing threads here, I've searched Pirate and read through just about all I could find there (some was helpful, a lot was just noise) and I've looked at lots of different race car and trophy truck setups to get ideas.

Here's some context. I've got an '85 minitruck with a flatbed that I've been building with my son. We're close to completing a 1UZ swap, which is the main reason for the radiator relocation. Most people that have done this motor swap in one of these trucks either do some firewall clearancing and/or a bodylift to get the motor positioned back far enough to fit a radiator in the standard location in front of the motor. I didn't want to do a body lift, and also didn't want to mangle the firewall. Additionally, even if I had done either of those options the room in front of the motor was still very tight to fit a good radiator and fan, but more importantly was so tight that replacing the belts would have been nearly impossible without dropping the radiator. So...here I am with the obvious (although a bit inconvenient) solution of moving the radiator to the bed. I'm not opposed to it being behind the cab on this truck but have a few questions/concerns.

First off, I could use any suggestions from anyone reading this about things to do or things to avoid, materials to use for plumbing, parts suggestions etc.