My 1980 FJ40 Build (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
OK, Ive posted a few things here and there but had not started my own thread on my little project so I figured why not. Im by no means a master mechanic nor a master fabricator so the build is purely for my mild enjoyment to wrench with friends and family then hit the trail when we are done. This is the first FJ i have owned. There are two others in the club we wheel with.
I bought a mostly completed 1980 FJ40 and a 1971 parts donor.
Here are a few details and pictures.
1980 FJ40
SBC 350 TBI (from a 1995 chevy pu)
Th350 automatic (mildly built as stated by PO)
Orion Transfer Case
ARB's & Chromoly Front and Rear
3 linked rear with RaceRunner coils
37"x14.00"x16 Iroks on Allied Beadlocks

Its a work in progress that Ive got a very slow start on but Im now trying to get going and get it done.
Ive found this forum and members to be very helpful with spec details and advice.

Just as i bought it.

I got two new seats off Amazon. No mounts yet ( I will be looking through the forum for mount ideas).

First thing I did was to send off the partial Orion I had. Out to Georg for an overhaul.

Got all worked over and sent back to me. Very pleased with how great it turned out!!

I will be researching crossmembers for both the transfer case & TH350 as I dont have either. Ive seen a transfer case crossmember from Advanced adapters that I really Liked but Ive also thought of Pros & Cons of a skid Plate rather than the crossmember.

Bought these set of used 37x14x16 Iroks on Allied Beadlocks (PO poured BB's or Beads into the tires??)

A friend of mine stripped, cut & rolled the knuckles on the extra front end (Im still not sure if it is the 1971 or 1980 front).

Got it rolled into the garage a couple weekends ago to finally get started making progress.

Out with the old

In with the new