Looking to learn more before buying a '94 KZJ78 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Everyone,

I am a mobile swim instructor in the Cayman Islands and am looking to buy a repainted 1994 KZJ78 with a rebuilt engine as a work vehicle.
KZJ78 1.jpeg

KZJ78 2.jpeg

Having "sorted" a 1992 LHD Miata before, I am naturally concerned about this Japan-only vehicle having parts that are no longer made / hard to obtain.
I would welcome any advice from people that have "sorted" 78 series. I am especially concerned with finding tie rods as the seller mentioned it needs some.
Cheers,

JP

I suspect @cruiseroutfit can take care of you on the tie rod ends if they ship internationally.

For sorted I would be thinking about all the major service items that these trucks would of required plus items that are worn out with just age. IE weatherstripping and seals. Below is the work that has been done or about to be done on ours in the last six months. To be clear the truck ran fine and rode reasonably well, but this is the work that it has been done to keep it in the daily driver category. To be fair most of this peace is find stuff, but I prefer working on trucks in the garage and not on the side of the road. The suspension work and anti-rattle stuff is for quality of life, but it is really nice being able to have a conversation with others in the truck.