FJ62 vs. 1st Gen 4Runner (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

Brand new to this site, but after daily driving an old Toyota for the last 2 years, I thought it was time to make an account. I have daily driven a 1986 4Runner for 2 years now and have racked up 30k miles of adventures in that time. Never once broke down on me, but of course always handled preventative maintenance. Unfortunately, at 299,950 miles a negligent dump truck backed over my front end and totaled it…

Now I’m thinking about buying a 1988 FJ62 with 280k miles to be my new (old) love affair. I’m no mechanic, but I don’t mind trying to do small to medium sized jobs myself and absolutely love the experience of driving simple, analog 4x4’s.

My question posed to all of you experienced LC owners is what are your thoughts on FJ62 reliability and cost of ownership compared to a 1st gen 4Runner? Do you consider one to be more reliable than the other? I took the 4Runner across Baja 1,500 miles and frequently drove it to mammoth (albeit very slowly). Think the 62 would be a fun upgrade and just as reliable as a daily/adventure rig if taken care of?

This is my first post, so apologies if I did something wrong and thanks for your patience.

-Rich

welcome 'board this crazy train known as mud :flipoff2: (official welcome)
your drive to mammoth probably won't be any faster if stock:hillbilly:, but you'll be able to carry more stuff. no, a 60 series would not be the wrong thing to do.
i'm in the middle of getting a 60 on the road coming from mini trucks n 1st gen 4runners
oh, one thing, leave cost of ownership off the table would be my 2cents